Goolge Flags Auction Tool As An Attack Site: Auctiva Appears To Host Malware, WTF?
Tonight I was doing a little shopping on eBay. Yes, I actually shop on the site, unlike a lot of sellers. That part I do not understand, but anyway…
During my search for product purchase, I was looking at one of the ads. BUT when I clicked through to see the auction information I got the BIG RED WARNING for malicious site, while using Google Chrome.
A carful look at the warning pointed out that it was not for eBay but for Auctiva.com. The wording of the warning said that Auctiva appears to host malware (malicious software). WOW, that is not good.
Now I am thinking to myself, this just must be a mistake, or an anomaly. So I go to a couple more vendors, with pictures hosted by Auctiva.com on eBay, and ALL of them get the same error.
I take my investigation now over to Google, to see what is up. I do a search on Auctiva.com and OH MAN, look…
HOLY COW, Auctiva has been flagged by Google as a harmful site!!! OH sh*t, “Whitney Houston we have a problem”, and this is a pretty big one!
This is NOT good for anyone, but especially for sellers on the Auctiva platform! This is showing up on EVERYTHING that has the Auctiva link. If you have something hosted on Auctiva, like your image of products, your STORE URL or even the the free Auctiva scrolling galleries. Many sellers use these free Auctiva tool and now they too are having flags. I would CHECK YOUR LISTINGS right now using Google Chrome browser and see if you might be effected by this rating on Google.
While researching this issue, I also happed to see a post on The Whine Sellers blog and she too has confirmed my suspicion, this is not a test, this is an actual emergency! She was using FireFox browser and got the same warnings…
NOT too cool if you are using Auctiva for your actions right now, I am sure. This could SERIOUSLY impact traffic, customer confidence, and ultimately sales, for ALL folks using the Auctiva platform.
I went ahead and took my chances and went to the Auctiva home page (please note that I am intentionally NOT linking to any Auctiva stuff in this article as a general precaution, sorry guys).
When I got in to Auctiva, there was a flashing warning, which I clicked and it took me to this message.
This looks like a general maintenance notice and does not in anyway address the malicious software rating from Google. I am not sure anything is being done to correct this Google block?!? Also this message is from Friday and said the resolution would be completed by Saturday afternoon. But this is SUNDAY morning that I am writing this story, so I am doubtful that this alert has anything to do with the issues detailed in this post.
OK, so I got 2 questions…HOW DID THIS HAPPEN? And why is Autiva NOT doing any damage control?
No related posts.
-
Dan
-
Cliff Aliperti
-
Wutzi
-
Geepers Mary
-
Geepers Mary
-
Rebel
-
colderice
-
Mitzi
-
Kym
-
Renagade
-
Cliff Aliperti
-
Trent_T
-
Connie




